[Solved] Internetlessness.

Page 1 of 2 1, 2  Next

View previous topic View next topic Go down

[Solved] Internetlessness.

Post  dGecko on Sat May 21, 2011 5:31 pm

Heya guys,
So first of all I have to state I'm a bit of a noob user when it comes to the advanced side of Linux. But hopefully if my post does not contain enough information, you can tell me what you need to help me out.
So I've been using Archlinux for a while and being very happy with it since installing it in Feb, never really bothered to upgrade it. Then wanting to try Gnome 3, thought it be a good experience. Smile
After the update however, whenever the pc boots up, the network interface 'dies'. By this i mean, the lights are active showing connectivity untill a point at startup where it starts the network, then the light goes dead, and it complains that it could not be started.
Some information:
I have the dreaded 03:00.0 Ethernet controller: Realtek Semiconductor Co., Ltd. RTL8111/8168B PCI Express Gigabit Ethernet controller (rev ff) (taken from lspci) , which Ive read gives quite alot of problems.
Ive searched a few forums, saying to modprobe -r r8169, then modprobe r8169. To see if it fixes the problem. No luck. its set up under dhcp.
so in rc.conf its eth0="dhcp" , INTERFACE=(eht0).
Some forum suggested dmesg | grep eth. Which on the last line just says eth0 : link not ready.
upon executing /etc/rc.d/network restart , it gets to "waiting for carrier" , then next line it says it timed out.
However when executing /etc/rc.d/network stop. The network lights on the router come back on flashing, but ofcource its because its not loaded.

After thinking that the update must have broken something, since it worked quite ok before. Decided to dl the live cd for Mint Linux 11 RC. With exactly the same thing happening there. Lights are on, till Mint loads fully, then lights go off, and in the network manager it just says that the cable is disconnected. Which it obviously isnt.